CoastguardMana

Saving Lives at Sea



Printer-friendly version
Oct 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Thu, 09/10/2014 Observation Techniques (theory)

Observation Techniques (theory) taken by James Pinchin at PEMO.

14 28
Wed, 08/10/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Tue, 07/10/2014 Inboard Motor Maintenance

Session 1 taken by Trevor Burgess at the Mana Cruising Club.

13 26
Thu, 02/10/2014 SAR Coms

Session on SAR Coms (theory) at PEMO presented by Mark Presling

13 26
Wed, 01/10/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Sep 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Wed, 24/09/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Thu, 18/09/2014 Victim Recovery Theory Module

Theory module training on Victim Recovery.

Tutor James Pinchin.

10 20
Wed, 10/09/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Thu, 04/09/2014 Crew Resource Management 1

Theory session on CRM held at PEMO. 

14 28
Wed, 03/09/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Aug 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Thu, 28/08/2014 MOSS / SSM Theory Module

Theory training module on MOSS / SSM.

14 28
Wed, 27/08/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Thu, 21/08/2014 Search Techniques (Theory)

Search & Rescue (theory) module presented by Mark Presling and James Pinchin.

14 28
Wed, 20/08/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by Wgtn CG.

2 5
Thu, 14/08/2014 Personal Safety (theory)

Classroom session facilitated jointly by Mark Presling and James Pinchin. This is the first of the new training matrix.

15 30
Jul 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Sat, 12/07/2014 Master CoC

 10:00 to 11:00 Master CoC  assesment - Pelorus acted as the vessel in distress requiring a tow  from Onehunga bay.

11:00 to 13:00  Fit 3 x mooring lines to pile moorings Onepoto arm of Porirua Hbr as directed by T Burgess - Tow trimaran from Mana marina and moor at pile moorings Onepoto arm Porirua Hbr.

2 6
Sat, 05/07/2014 Saturday training session

CRV Pelorus - introduction of trainee crew members to vessel handeling in open water - hight speed manovering - mooring bouy pick up & MOB.  Area ; Onepoto arm of Porarua hbr.

3 9
Thu, 03/07/2014 Thursday night training

Introduction to Pelorus chartplotter

4 8
Tue, 01/07/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Jun 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Sun, 29/06/2014 Coastguard Instructor training in Wellington

Practical excercises on Pelorus in Evans Bay, Wellington with a number of trainee instructors from the Coastguard Central Region. Trainees were required to run multiple training scenarios as part of getting sign-off to become "Coastguard Instructor" or "Regional Coastguard Instructor" trainers.

3 24
Thu, 26/06/2014 Thursday night training

Overview of the Nav station on TPR.

4 4
Tue, 24/06/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Sun, 22/06/2014 Plimmerton Kindy Mid Winter Swim

TPR towed Pelorus over to Karehana Bay (Plimmerton) to observe the Plimmerton Kindergarten midwinter swim before continuing out towards Mana Island. There we dropped a GPS tracker buoy to track the tidal flow from tidal diamond A (near Mana Is) whilst doing towing and rafting up manouvres with Pelorus as a target vessel. 

The buoy was then retrieved 1hr 26mins later and had travelled north a distance of 1.22NM.

9 27
Tue, 17/06/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Thu, 12/06/2014 Thursday night training

Practice launch & recovery of Pelorus. Hot launch checklist and line throwing from Pelorus.

4 8
Tue, 10/06/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Thu, 05/06/2014 Thursday night training

Basics at the hut. Knot tying, identifying ropes for towing, berthing, rafting up. Practiced throwing heaving lines from the stern of TPR.

7 14
Tue, 03/06/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Sun, 01/06/2014 Sunday training on Pelorus

We did the pole mooring excercise with Pelorus where the crew have to manouvre the vessel from pole to pole along the line with one line attached to a pole at all times. This excercise tests not only the helmperson's ability to handle the boat but also maintainclear and concise communications with the person handling the bowline and the person on the sternline.

Rotated all positions through each crew member.

4 12
May 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Tue, 27/05/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

4 10
Sat, 24/05/2014 Saturday training session

Location : Onepoto arm porirua Hbr.

Towing and rafting training

6 18
Thu, 22/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Practical radar training 

Tutor: Carl Nixon

5 15
Thu, 22/05/2014 Towing Theory - Peter Tse

Towing theory presented by Peter Tse. Involved watching presentation and going aboard TPR to locate tow ropes etc.

6 12
Tue, 20/05/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Sun, 18/05/2014 Track line search with active recovery of person in the water

Pelorus was usedto support training for TPR by setting up a track line search scenario;

A debris trail was left from midway Mana Island to the southern end of the Island to create a four point debris track and victim.  A recue mannequinn was dropped at the last point for the TPR crew to complete the exercise with victim recovery and medical support

2 14
Sat, 17/05/2014 Saturday training session

Towing and rafting practical

9 36
Thu, 15/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Masters training  MOB / anchoring / mooring plimmerston jetty

6 18
Tue, 13/05/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass a Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Sun, 11/05/2014 Sunday training

Training session to cover search techniques and search patterns. Spent some time initially going over the theory of search techniques and patterns before heading out on the water and putting it into practice searching for something that went missing the day before.

5 20
Sat, 10/05/2014 Saturday training session

Master Training . SAR Ex South of Mana Island.

10 60
Thu, 08/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Masters training - Search patterns -MOB

5 15
Thu, 08/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Masters training - Search patterns -MOB

5 15
Sat, 03/05/2014 Master Training Emerg Procs

Master training for reassessment exam. Emergency procedures:-

MOB, fire, abandon ship, grounding, collision, medical reovery/evac.

7 21
Thu, 01/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Master training  - bumps and grinds around the marina 1 hr

Night navigation up Onepoto arm to pile moorings , moor between piles, return to Mana marina. 1 hr

5 10
Thu, 01/05/2014 Thursday afternoon training

Master training  - bumps and grinds around the marina 1 hr

Night navigation up Onepoto arm to pile moorings , moor between piles, return to Mana marina. 1 hr

5 10
Apr 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Tue, 29/04/2014 BoatMaster

BoatMaster course facilitated by John Bass at Mana Cruising Club.

5 12.5
Sun, 27/04/2014 Sunday training

General training session held on land and on water to cover all of our MOSS safety drills on Trust Porirua Rescue. Other excercises also perfomed on Pelorus.

Things covered:

  • Fire
  • Collision/grounding
  • Abandon ship
  • Man Overboard
  • Location of all safety equipment on board
  • Rope handling
  • Manouvring
  • Coming alongside
9 36
Sun, 06/04/2014 Porirua Grand Traverse

The PGT runs every year in April and Coastguard Mana have coordinated the onwater support teams for the main event and the kids waka ama event.  This year Coastguard had 3 boats on the water and support boats from Wellington Rowing and titahi Bay boating club.  PGT is a good event for coastguard as it helps with crew training and especially with operational/senior crew on scene comand training.

7 45.5
Mar 2014
Date Title Teaser Turnout Total Volunteer Hours
Thu, 27/03/2014 NZ SAR System

Paul ran a session on the NZ SAR System theory module.

4 8
Thu, 20/03/2014 Thursday night training

Personal Safety: Paul Craven, Gerry ,Bradley & Jacob

Ropework: Steve & Natasha

IMT: Trevor & Denis

Pelorus (night navigation & pilotage): Chris D, Carl, James P & Lorna

12 24
Thu, 13/03/2014 Personal Safety in the pool

A second session in the pool to cover off Personal Safety. Covered use of life jackets, staying together, keeping warm, climbing into a liferaft, etc.

12 24
Sat, 08/03/2014 Practical module signoff

In the absence of a crew to take out on training in the afternoon Mark ended up sitting down with Christopher to go through his training log and work through the practical assessments that he needed signing off. We ran through a series of drills and questioning over things like:

  • fire fighting drills, equipment and techniques
  • local area familiarisation
  • the Safe Ship Management manual
  • legal considerations
  • etc
2 4


Syndicate content